Social Icons

Saturday 25 August 2012

Champions of Common Sense

On this blog we often highlight those in Parliament who are actively seeking to destroy our civil liberties, our freedoms, and our economy by their support for plain packs.  In this post, however, we list the Parliamentarians who oppose plain packs.  The majority of the list below is taken from the open letter that dozens of MPs signed in June 2012 -- these do not have links following their names.  All other additional MPs will have links to the articles, web sites or tweets confirming their opposition to plain packs.

This page will be updated frequently without notice. It is perma-linked under Common Sense Champions in the menu bar above.  Please feel free to leave a comment with links to any MPs who do not yet appear on the list.  Thanks!

Copyright Notice: Although the contents of this list are taken from statements or signed letters in the public domain, this list is NOT in the public domain. I researched it (or others kindly provided links); I created it, and I own it. Therefore, any person, organisation or governmental entity who works on behalf of the tobacco control industry at large (including but certainly not limited to universities, the mainstream press and media, the NHS, BHF, CRUK and ASH) and any person, organisation or entity (including the entire country of Australia) who supports plain packs, must NOT use this list for any purpose, including but not limited to copying this list, modifying it, linking to it via any other web site or internet service (e.g. Twitter), printing it, nor may you link to this page or reference it in your evil wiki of shame (Tobacco Tactics) or do anything at all with it without my express permission to do so.

In other words, make your own damn list, tobacco control industry.  You get paid with taxpayer money to promote your hateful, hurtful agendas against smokers.  I, on the other hand, do not receive any funds from anyone. Seriously, I don't.

Disclaimer:  Every effort has been made to ensure accuracy. If you see an error, please contact me or leave a message so that it may be corrected.  This blog does not endorse any politician appearing on this page, their views, nor endorse any of their parties. We list them here only to provide information.

Champions of Common Sense

The following MPs have openly opposed plain packs by signing the open letter:
  • Ian Paisley - North Antrim
  • Graham Brady - Altrincham and Sale West
  • Brian Binley  - Northampton South
  • Therese Coffey  - Suffolk Coastal
  • Kate Hoey - Vauxhall
  • Greg Knight - East Yorkshire
  • Jackie Doyle-Price - Thurrock
  • Stephen Metcalfe - South Basildon and East Thurrock
  • Mark Pawsey  - Rugby
  • Charlie Elphicke - Dover
  • Laurence Robertson - Tewkesbury
  • Gerry Sutcliffe - Bradford South
  • Paul Goggins - Wythenshawe and Sale East
  • Christopher Chope - Christchurch
  • Steven J. Baker - Wycombe
  • Mary T. Glindon - North Tyneside
  • Stephen Hepburn - Jarrow
  • Ketih Vaz - Leicester East
  • John Robertson - Glasgow North West
  • Gordon Henderson - Sittingbourne and Sheppey
  • David Hamilton - Midlothian
  • Bob Stewart - Beckenham
  • Jeffrey M. Donaldson - Lagan Valley
  • Mark Spencer - Sherwood
  • Jacob Rees-Mogg - North East Somerset
  • John Cryer - Leyton and Wanstead
  • Karl McCartney - Lincoln
  • David Nuttal - Bury North
  • Philip Davies - Shipley
  • Alun Cairns - Vale of Glamorgan
  • Guto Bebb - Aberconwy
  • Michael Fallon - Sevenoaks
  • Mike Freer - Finchley and Golders Green
  • Ronnie Campbell - Tynemouth
  • Jim Sheridan - Paisley and Renfrewshire North
  • Peter Hain - Neath
  • John Thurso - Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross
  • Richard G. Drax - South Dorset
  • Nigel Mills - Amber Valley
  • Roger Godsiff - Birmingham, Hall Green
  • Ian Liddell-Grainger - Bridgwater and West Somerset
  • Robin Walker - Worcester
  • Neil Parish - Tiverton and Honiton
  • Robert Walter - North Dorset
  • Peter Bone - Wellingborough
  • Douglas Carswell - Clacton
  • Grahame M. Morris - Easington
  • Philip Hollobone - Kettering
  • Simon Hart - Carmarthen West and South Pembrokeshire
  • Anne Main - St Albans
  • Paul Uppal - Wolverhampton South West
Additional MPs opposing plain packaging are:
  • Mark Field - Cities of London and Westminster
  • Priti Patel - Witham
h/t Pat Nurse

Additional MPs who signed the open letter, as indicated in a Department of Health FOI (link forthcoming)
  • David Amess - Southend West
  • Richard Bacon - South Norfolk
  • Angie Bray - Ealing Central and Acton
  • Julian Brazier - Canterbury
  • Conor Burns - Bournemouth West
  • David Davies - Monmouth
  • Mark Field - Cities of London and Westminster
  • George Galloway - Bradford West
  • Robert Halfon - Harlow
  • Gerald Howarth - Aldershot
  • Gareth Johnson - Dartford
  • Jack Lopresti - Filton and Bradley Stoke
  • Jonathan Lord - Woking
  • Khalid Mahmood - "Birmingham, Perry Barr"
  • Anne McIntosh - Thirsk and Malton
  • Priti Patel - Witham
  • Virendra Sharma - "Ealing, Southall"
  • Charles Walker - Broxbourne
  • Angela Watkinson - Hornchurch and Upminster
  • John Whittingdale - Maldon
  • Sammy Wilson - East Antrim

page udpated 6 May 2013